Prefix

Prefix is the pre-event we did for WORD11, is like a warm up for us to make sure we do WORD11 right, also an experience for YOU, the attendees, to feel how WORD11 is going to like.

If you like what you see here, register for WORD11, because we are pretty sure it will be MORE FUN!!

Prefix poster :)

More videos on Toronto’s bloggers sharing their experiences :D

We thank all the speakers and our moderator David Hamilton on making Prefix a success!! If you are interested in reviewing what had happened, or want to listen to the presentations once again, kindly follow our schedule and click onto the video links.
**excuse us for some of the timing on the video could not be exact and occasionally experienced technical difficulties since it was LIVE**

Schedule

Introduction to WORD11 and kick-off at Green Choice Moto
1pm ET / 10am PT
Tm Mahdi & David Hamilton


Email Marketing for Your Blog
2pm ET / 11am PT
Presented by David Hamilton – Onlinefriendly.biz

What does email marketing have to do with having a successful blog? Email marketing can get your blog noticed, and form closer connections with your readers. In this presentation, writer and new media specialist David Hamilton explains some of the common forms of marketing emails and how they can add value to your blog.


UX: Developing content to enhance the user experience
3pm ET / 12 noon PT
Presented by Lorelle VanFossen
Read her blog post on this :)

Renowned blogger and WordPress evangelist Lorelle VanFossen discusses blog writing and content generation to enhance the user experience. What does it take to create content that meets your goals and encourages visitor conversions to loyal fans? Learn to use Web analytics, demographics, customer touch points and more to serve up tasty content that makes them keep coming back.


Best Practices in Monetizing Blogs
4pm ET/ 1pm PT
Presented by Yasmine Mustafa (starts @13:15)
Read her blog post on Prefix here

While it’s hard to quit your day job and blog full-time, it’s possible to make a decent income from your blog. In this presentation, 123linkit founder Yasmine Mustafa explains how you can effectively monetize your blog. 123LinkIt helps bloggers with affiliate marketing and building a passive income streams without having to know the ins and outs of affiliate marketing.


Using social media for social change
5pm ET / 2pm PT
Presented by Fernando Fonseca

While blogging is powerful in itself, social media connected to a blogging platform can be an especially strong force. In this presentation, well-known (h)acktivist Fernando Fonseca will show how online activism can cause real-world change. Fernando was part of such a change as a member of an activist group in Portugal that used blogging and social media to help put public expenditure on the national agenda. At 5pm ET (2pm PT), learn from Fonseca how to have your voice heard online and off.


Hello Drupal! A short introduction to site building using Drupal
6pm ET / 3pm PT
Presented by Erin Marchak (started 53:00 on previous video)

In this session, independent Web designer and developer Erin Marchak will provide a quick introduction to building feature-rich community sites using popular content management system Drupal. Erin will help you get your feet wet with this powerful and flexible platform, and show you the tools available to create enticing Drupal sites. Join her to get started with Drupal.


Publishing smarter with Squarespace
7pm ET / 4pm PT
Presented by Elana Roth

Elana Roth will show some of the fantastic things that can be done with the Squarespace blogging platform. Both a diva of dead-tree and cutting-edge media, Elana brings a unique perspective to the world of blogging. Learn how simple and elegant blogging with Squarespace can be in this engaging session, and have your questions about the platform answered.


Ask Lorelle about WordPress
8pm ET / 5pm PT
Presented by Lorelle VanFossen (started 57:08 on previous video)

Lorelle VanFossen, who writes the enormously popular blog, Lorelle on WordPress, will be joining us to answer our questions about the world’s most popular open-source blogging platform – WordPress. From beginner troubles to walking you through advanced concepts, Lorelle will show you how to get your WordPress blog to work the way you want it to.

Creating content for RL: Bridging the online and real world
9pm ET / 6pm PT
Presented by Adil Dhalla, Moderated by Lorelle VanFossen
**Special thanks to Lorelle

Online media has the potential to connect people and drive social change. Adil Dhalla is co-founder of My City Lives, a project that strives to highlight people and places that are interesting around the City of Toronto. Adil will be talking about what it means to create content for the real world, and some of the projects that My City Lives is currently working on to connect with people in the real world.

Viral videos and social memes: what’s the magic formula?
10pm ET / 7pm PT
Presented by Chanelle Schneider

Chanelle Schneider, host of GenYChat, is discussing viral videos and social memes this week on the #GenYChat Twitter hashtag. GenYChat is a popular discussion group about the latest generation to reach adulthood; it’s also more or less the first generation that grew up with the Internet. While the #GenYChat Twitter discussion is going on, Chanelle will be our guest, talking about memes that have stood out to her and other members of Gen Y.

Video interviews on Toronto’s Bloggers
11pm midnight ET / 8pm PT

Wrap up and conclusion
12 midnight ET / 9pm PT
Tm Mahdi & David Hamilton

8 Responses to Prefix

  1. Word11 says:

    See the schedule HERE

  2. Pingback: Announcing Online Word11 Pre-Event: Prefix | WORD11

  3. Pingback: 4 New Speakers Added To Word11 Prefix Sessions | WORD11

  4. Pingback: Farewell Sprouter & Word11′s the Word! « The Renaissance Man Experiment

  5. Word11 says:

    For those who would like to ASK questions to our presenters #WORD11, you can join us at Word11 Prefix meeting at http://bit.ly/mScb8i Meeting#: 739 488 301, no password needed :)

  6. Pingback: We Build Social Relevance » Blog Archive » Why Listen to Rob Campbell Explain Story Funnels to Buckstops at Word11, August 27 Toronto

  7. Wiley Corrington says:

    Outstanding post, you have pointed out some fantastic details, I likewise conceive this is a very wonderful website.

  8. Pingback: Word11 AudioCast – UX: Developing Content to Enhance the User Experience | howtodothewebsite.com

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>